If you have been involved in a car accident in Texas, you need to know what action you should take to make a claim for injuries or seek compensation for vehicle damage. We at the law firm of Charles J. Argento want to help you with your next steps, from how to make a claim for compensation to navigating the legal landscape with a personal injury lawsuit.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim
If you decide to file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver in Texas, you will need to be aware of the statute of limitations. This is the filing deadline for personal injury cases in the civil court.
In Texas, you have two years from the date of the car accident to file the initial complaint within the correct civil court. The two-year “clock” starts ticking from the date of the accident. However, it only applies to cases filed in court. This means the two-year time limit doesn’t apply to claims filed with your insurance company. That being said, it is good practice to file your insurance claim as quickly as possible after your accident, as this will allow you enough time to go to court if settlement negotiations break down.
If your accident was the fault of the government or a government employee and you want to get compensation, you almost always need to file an administrative claim within 60 to 90 days. Keep that in mind, as the two-year time limit will not apply.
Texas Car Insurance Rules
Whether you are making a claim under your own policy or with the at-fault driver’s carrier, car insurance always comes into play after an accident. Here is a brief breakdown of Texas car insurance rules:
- Texas is a “fault” car insurance state. This means you are allowed to file a liability insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver after a car accident
- In Texas, the minimum car insurance coverage requirements for drivers: $30,000 for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for bodily injury per accident if two or more people are injured, and $25,000 for property damage per accident
- • Although it is advisable, Texas does not require drivers to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage
Here to Help and Negotiate
Filing a claim with the courts and negotiating with car insurance companies can become overwhelming when you are still recovering from an accident. At the law firm of Charles J. Argento we have experienced car accident attorneys who know how to handle settlement negotiations, how to anticipate and avoid obstacles, and how to best protect your rights at every stage in the case. Contact us today online or by calling toll free at (713) 225-5050. We speak both English and Spanish and look forward to helping you with your case.